30
Jul
12

Eight Tubes, Part 4: A Small Aesthetic Emergency

We interrupt the construction of this particular frame set to deal with a small aesthetic emergency. It seems that just when I thought that I had put Old Number One (my first frame building project) firmly in the completed pile, a small issue has arisen that (1) is unexpected, (2) is annoying, and (3) makes more work for me.

Here’s the deal: I liked the way that Old Number One looked in bare metal so much that I tried to come up with a strategy to keep it that way. My solution was to spray the frame with Krylon clear acrylic (satin finish) and hope for the best.

Well, it ain’t working.

20120730-075822.jpg

It says “Indoor/Outdoor” right on the can, but it appears that the finish is a bit porous when you don’t spray on an unreasonably thick coat of the stuff. Granted, I might have gone a little light on the spots where I am getting the problems – mostly on the chain stays- in order to avoid runs in the paint. I’ll also concede that human body sweat can be fairly corrosive, except that I don’t think I am schvitzing to the point where it is running down the frame and pooling on the chain stays. That would be (1) unacceptably gross, and (2) biologically unlikely.

So right now I am about to flip a coin to see whether I just assume that I went too light on the clear coat and reshoot where I have problems or stop farting around with it and just re-paint it. I am thinking Merckx orange with a white fork and panels on the down tube and seat tube. Or, easier yet, solid white.

The other reason that I am a little slow on the construction end of things is that I have run out of silver flux, so no brazing for me. That’s probably a good thing, because it has given me some time to think out how I am going to attack brazing up the most crucial parts of the fork – the crown and legs – to make sure that I have good strong joints. Otherwise, I am ready to start cutting metal on the fork…

5 Responses to “Eight Tubes, Part 4: A Small Aesthetic Emergency”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    July 30, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    If I am not mistaken, there is a clear powdercoat is there not? T0G

  2. 3 Nick Belletti
    December 6, 2012 at 5:51 am

    Too bad Alexandria Metal Finishers moved to Lorton. They were so convenient on South Early Street and a good source of personal knowledge/information. I has some things chrome plated 30 years ago and they still look good. Nice ladyfriend you picture.


Leave a Reply

